top of page

Sydney Uni Win NSW Rowing Awards 2010

Sydney University Rowing scooped a number of major awards at the 2010 Rowing New South Wales Presentation Dinner held last night. In the points tables Sydney Uni won both the Men’s and Women’s Elite/U23 Shields retaining domination in elite competition going back to a number years. For the eighth year running the NSW Rowing Honours Trophy for the most points scored at the State Championships also went to Sydney University and due in large part to the efforts of our U21 women’s squad Sydney Uni also topped the points table in the U19/U21 Shield.

On the individual front Bronwen Watson was awarded the Oarswoman of the Year trophy while our Director of Rowing, Mark Prater was awarded NSW Rowing Coach of the Year for 2009-10. This award recognized the success of Sydney University at both the National Championships (where the club topped the medal table with 16 gods) and the NSW Championships.

The Rusty Robertson Award is given at the discretion of the Rowing NSW Board to a club or individual who has made a sustained and valuable contribution to the aims of the Rowing Association. This year this major award went to our recently retired Women’s President, Jane Spring. Jane has been President of our Women’s Club since 1986 and was instrumental in securing the boatshed at Blackwattle Bay for Sydney Uni rowing. In addition Jane’s tireless work on preserving access to waterways in Sydney was recognized in the citation for this award.



bottom of page