top of page

Rowing Clubs Awarded Sport Club Of The Year

The 2004 Sydney Uni Sports Awards featured many new scholar athletes and the annual awards for Club, Coach, Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year. After one of the strongest nominations in a few years the Award for 2004 went to Boat/Rowing. Cited in particular for 2004 were highlights including major wins in the U23 Coxed Four at the U23 Worlds with a crew and coach from SUBC, the 2004 Oxford and Cambridge Cup for eights, the NSW Women’s Eights championships and the NSWRA Honours Trophy for the best club at the 2004 NSW State Championships.

Accepting for Boat/Rowing were Mark Hoffman, President of SUBC and Yasmin L’Estrange Captain of SUWRC.

The win is important to the Clubs and recognizes the fantastic work of the Coaches, Marty Rabjohns and Andrew Randell in Boat and Inna Frolova followed by Alan Bennet in Women’s Rowing.

These coaches have justified the investment of SU Sport by taking rowing to new levels of performance at Sydney Uni. Both representatives of the Men and Women acknowldged the fantastic assistance of SU Sport and the contribution of the coaches and long term alumni of the Club.

Finally it is the sports men and women who perform the feats necessary to win this award and many were on hand to receive scholarships and participate in the pleasure of winning.

With excellent results in the opening months of 2005 Boat/Rowing will be pushing to get onto the podium for this award in 2005 also !

Our photo shows Head Coaches, Marty Rabjohns (SUBC) and Alan Bennet (SUWRC) with the COTY silverware.



bottom of page