top of page

Oxford And Cambridge Cup – SUBC Seeking 5th Win

The Intervarsity rowing competition dates from 1860 when it began with “unofficial” races between Sydney and Melbourne. Races occured at spasmodic intervals between 1860 and 1869 in fours. In 1870 the first “official” intervarsity boat race was contested between Sydney, Melbourne and Adelaide universities.

In that race Edmund Barton, Australia’s first Prime Minister rowed at No 2 in the Sydney University four.

In 1888 the race was converted to eights and in 1893 the colleges of Oxford and Cambridge through connections with the Presidents of Sydney and Melbourne Boat clubs donated this magnificent trophy.

The men’s eight has been raced annually for this trophy ever since except for suspension of competition in the wars and in 1965, following and outbreak of party activity by competitors in the 1964 event in Tasmania.

Sydney University Boat Club won the 2007 race at Hinze Dam in Queensland equalling their best of four in a row having won in 2004-5-6. The previous record was set in 1935-36-37-38.

This year SUBC will attempt to create club history when the men’s eight will race

at the Regatta Centre, Penrith on 3rd October for a hoped 5th victory in a row.



bottom of page