top of page

Intervarsity Team 2007 Heads To Gold Coast

The SUBC Men’s Eight will be attempting to retain the Oxford and Cambridge Trophy when the Intervarsity Rowing kicks off at the Australian Uni Games next week. The club won this trophy in 2004 and successfully defended it in 2005 and 2006. A win in 2007 would be only the second time that Sydney Uni has won the Trophy four times in a row and the crew is confident but not cocky. A win this year will set up the opportunity for a first ever five in a row in 2008.

Among our competitors this year are Liz Kell ( 2006 World Double Scull Champion) in the women’s single scull, Elsa O’Hanlon (2006 World Uni Champion) in the women’s Lightweight Scull). Our U23 silver medallists from this year Renee Kirby and Charlotte Walters will row in the women’s double and women’s eight. On the men’s side our national men’s eight cox Marty Rabjohns will steer the men’s crews including the men’s eight which will feature our 2007 U23 bronze medallists Terrence Alfred, Mitch Estens, James Goswell and Andrew Connolly. This group will be ably supported by recent time trial star Dave Neuhaus, the experienced and tough duo of Will Townsend and Justin Quigley and new youngster Ben Cook.

The coaching team will be Phil Bourguignon, Alan Bennett and Mark Prater. Wishing our 2007 all the best for next week.

Our full SU Rowing Team is below:

AUG Womens crews

W8+ 8 Chloe O’Regan 7 Charlotte Walters 6 Renee Kirby 5 Lucy Marshall 4 Emma Costello 3 Kate Beasley 2 Katie Robinson 1 Alex Handley c Mollie Bain

W4+ 4 Sophie Coolican 3 Tasha Bolsin 2 Sarah Phillips 1 Pippa Moorehead c Mollie Bain

WL4x 4 Elsa O’Hanlon 3 Kylie Grant 2 Irma Kajan 1 Jacky Peile

W2x 2 Kylie Grant 1 Irma Kajan

W2- 2 Charlotte Walters 1 Renee Kirby

W1x Lizzie Kell

Wl1x Elsa O’Hanlon

AUG Mens crews

M8+ 8 Terrance Alfred 7 Mitch Estens 6 James Goswell 5 David Neuhaus 4 Ben Cook 3 Justin Quigley 2 William Townsend 1 Andrew Conolly c Marty Rabjohns

M4+ 4 Terrance Alfred 3 Mitch Estens 2 Justin Quigley 1 William Townsend c Marty Rabjohns

ML4- 4 Ed White 3 Cam Girdlestone 2 Jo Power 1 Ed Alexander

M2x 2 David Neuhaus 1 Ben Cook

M2- 2 Andrew Conolly 1 James Goswell

M1x Matt May

ML1x Cam Girdlestone



bottom of page