Australian Intervarsity History Revealed

Recent alumnus Andrew Wilson has sent in details of Intervarsity competition gleaned from the Rowing History website compiled by Andrew Guerin. History shows the Oxford and Cambridge Cup has been won:

40 times by Melbourne, 35 times ( incl 2007) by Sydney with 7 wins by Queensland and 6 by WA.

The 1951 event was a dead heat between Sydney and Melbourne.

Sydney?s best winning streaks have been 1935-36-37-38 and 2004-5-6-7.

The history of rowing intervarsity can be accessed at :



Thyne Reid Boatshed
348 Burns Bay Road, Lane Cove

Glebe Boatshed
Bottom of Ferry Rd, Glebe



© Copyright 2017 Sydney University Boat Club. All Rights Reserved.