top of page

SUBC Heads To Tasmania for National Championships

Next week the Australian National Championships begin on Lake Barrington in Tasmania. The regatta runs from Monday 21st to Sunday 27th April, with Kings Cup Men?s eight race being the finale of the regatta. Lake Barrington is located in Tasmania’s North-West region, a rich agricultural area also noted for its scenic beauty, with ready access to the highlands and lake districts. The Lake is now one of the finest rowing venues in the world, and a previous site of world championships. Barrington also promises to put on some fine weather for the championships, with the temperature ranging from 0 -14 degrees, something the guys will not be used to!

This year we will be fielding a good sized squad, over a large amount of categories, with twenty-two SUBC athletes attending the regatta. The events SUBC will be contesting are as follows:

Small Boats:

Under 19 Mens Single Scull: Rupert Sheridan and Grant Hardy

Under 23 Mens Coxless Pair: Francis Hegerty/Matt Ryan and Michael Valli/Tim Williams

Under 23 Lightweight Mens Single Scull: Stew Old and Ben Vining

Under 23 Mens Single Scull: Andrew Wilson and Ian Allsop

Elite Mens Coxless Pair: Dan Burke/Zac Kirkham

Elite Lightweight Mens Coxless Pair: Tim O?Callaghan/George Jelbart (MUBC)

Big Boats:

Under 19 Mens Coxed Four: Harry Horwitz-Rouke, Angus Campbell, Rupert Sheridan, Alex Cary and Cox: Bert Williams

Under 19 Mens Double Scull: Grant Hardy/Miles Foran (ACTAS)

Under 23 Mens Coxless Four: Francis Hegerty/Matt Ryan/Michael Valli/Tim Williams

Under 23 Mens Double Scull: Nick Hudson/Tom Westgarth and Andy Wilson/Ian Allsop

Under 23 Lightweight Mens Double Scull: Stew Old/Tristan Barnes (WAIS)

Under 23 Mens Eight: Hegerty/Ryan/Valli/Williams/Sheridan/Wilson/Hudson and Coxed by Rob Williams

Ten SUBC rowers and one coxswain have been selected to represent NSW in various categories at the Interstate Regatta held on Sunday 27th April. The Youth Eight is coached by Andrew Randell and boasts eight SUBC reps in the boat, these are: Rupert Sheridan, Andrew Wilson, Ian Allsop, Matt Ryan, Michael Valli, Nicholas Hudson, Angus Campbell and Bert Williams the Cox.

In addition, Tim O’Callaghan will represent NSW in the Penrith Cup Lightweight Four and may also be joined by ex-pair partner Stewart Old. Francis Hegerty has also been selected for his maiden race in the NSW Kings Cup eight.

To keep up to date with results and how the guys are going, please click onto our results page, event results will be updated regularly. To also view all the events and results from the National Champs, please visit the Official regatta web page:

Good Luck, to all the Sydney Uni guys.



bottom of page