top of page

SUBC Awards at RNSW Dinner

The Rowing NSW 2023 Presentation Dinner saw a number of awards to Sydney University Boat Club.

Ella Mentzines, our Women’s Captain was presented with the RNSDW Women’s U23 and Elite Shield for the 2022-23 season. Congratulations to our women’s squad and to our Head Women’s Coach Alfie Young.

Ella Mentzines, SUBC's women's captain being presented with winning shield.

Charlotte Botha and Alexandra O’Brien were presented with Union of Rowers Scholarship awards. Charlotte and Alexandra are currently preparing with their crew mates to represent Australia in the Junior Four at the 2023 World Championships in Paris in August.

In the major rowing awards Tara Rigney was named NSW Oarswoman of the Year and Alex Purnell NSW Oarsman of the Year. Both Tara and Alex could not be present as they were competing in the Rowing World Cup II where both won silver medals.

The last award of the evening was the Rowing NSW Rusty Robertson MBE Award.

The Rusty Robertson MBE Award is awarded to an individual or group of individuals who has made a significant and sustained contribution to the endeavours and objects of the Association.

This was awarded to Chris Noel, current Secretary of Sydney University Boat Club and former long-term President.

Chris when interviewed spoke about the honour of receiving this award, especially considering the dedication and high standard of administrators and coaches in our sport. Chris thanked Rowing New South Wales and the RNSW Board for the honour of this award.

Chris when asked felt that apart from his contribution at SUBC he, with the assistance of others on the Rowing NSW Board (Stephen Handley) had made an important contribution to the selection process and status of the New South Wales State Rowing Team. Chris emphasized how important it was in the future to maintain the quality of input at the administrative and selection level into the state team.



bottom of page