top of page

The SUBC Review April 2021

Sydney University tops the Australian Rowing Championships point score!

Congratulations to all athletes who raced at the Australian Rowing Championships in Lake Barrington, Tasmania, from the 22nd-28th March. The club was extremely successful in both the men’s and women’s events, and obtained an outstanding 26.75 medals, with 10.75 of those being gold medals. The amazing performances by the athletes ensured that the club held onto the title of winners of the club point score for the 3rd year in a row! Our gold medal performances include:

U23 Women’s Single : Sophie Houston

U23 Women’s lightweight pair : Wallis Russel

Open Men’s Single: Cameron Girdlestone

Open Women’s Double : Tara Rigney

Open Women’s Quad: Rowena Meredith

Open Men’s Double: Campbell Watts

Open men’s Quad: Cameron Girdlestone

Open Men’s Four: Alex Purnell, Jack Hargreaves

Open Women’s lightweight Quad: Lucy Coleman

U23 Women’s lightweight double: Wallis Russel

U23 Women’s Quad: Ella Mentzines, Eleanor Price, Sophie Houston, Skye Froebel

Club Women’s Eight: Grace Livingstone, Ella Cassin, Jasmine Bowers, India Hobbs, Emily Sheppard, Danielle Start, Alex Smits, Grace Turner, C: Tash Richardson

Club Men’s Four: Marcus Britt, Devlin Walsh, Lachlan Miles, Henry Ryan

Club Men’s eight: Miller Argent, Harrison Rowston, Angus Arnott, Nic Rath, Marcus Britt, Devlin Walsh, Lachlan Miles, Henry Ryan, C. Hannah Scarborough

PR3 Mixed coxed four: James Talbot

A massive congratulations to everyone who raced over the week and a huge thank you to our coaches for working hard to make sure the week ran smoothly.

Women's U23 8+
Clean sweep for SUBC in the mens open single
Men's Club 8+

2021 Interstate Regatta

Congratulations to all of our athletes who represented NSW in the 2021 Interstate regatta. We would like to give a special mention to Tara Rigney who came from behind to claim the Nell Slatter Trophy, and the only win for NSW!

ISW1x: Tara Rigney

ISM1x: Cameron Girdlestone

ISLW4x: Lucy Coleman, Annelise Isaacs, Wallis Russel (QLD)

ISLW4-: Wyatt Batt

ISYW8+: Sophie Houston

ISYM8+: Tom Anderson, Elliot Simpson, C. Hannah Scarborough

ISW8+: Georgie Gotch, Rowena Meredith, Genevieve Horton, C. Talia Barnet- Hepples, Kate Rowan (QLD), Georgie Gleeson (VIC)

ISM8+: Will O’Shannessy, Nick Purnell, Campbell Watts, Alex Purnell, Jack Hargreaves, Jack O’Brien

Tara Rigney

U23 Selection Trials

Our women’s side of the club had an excellent regatta, and as a result of their performances, we had 9 athletes invited to U23 trials, held in the week following nationals. The boat club would like to congratulate all female athletes selected into the 2021 U23 Australian Rowing Team.

U23 8+: Jaime Ford, Ella Mentzines, Talia Barnett- Hepples

U23LW2x: Wallis Russel

U23W4x: Sophie Houston, Skye Froebel, Eleanor Price

U23W2x: Nicola Greenland

These athletes will compete at the World Cup 3 simulation regatta to be held from 11-13 June 2021 in Penrith, NSW.

A big congratulations to coach Jack Hanley who has been selected to coach the Women’s eight and Quadruple Scull on the U21 Australian team, who will also be competing in the World Cup 3 simulation regatta.

Skye Froebel, Sophie Houston, Eleanor Price and Ella Mentzines

SUBC Annual General Meeting

The SUBC AGM was held on Saturday 17th April. We congratulated Jaime Ford on being elected Women’s Captain, and thanked Dyone Bettega for all of her amazing work as captain since 2016. We also congratulated all other members of the committee on their re-election for 2021. We were finally able to present the awards from our 2020 annual dinner which was cancelled due to Covid-19 restrictions.

Here is the list of our award winners:

Rebecca Wilson Shield: Campbell Watts

Most Improved Female: India Hobbs

Most Improved Male: Phil Kaufmann

Club Woman: Uzes Beaton

Club Man: Nick Mirrow

Novice of the year: Darcy Cameron

Male Pathway crew of the year: Will O’Shannessy and Marcus Britt

Female pathway crew of the year: Tara Rigney

Masters rowers of the year: Kerrie Bigsworth and Jo Pollet

Don’s Special Award: Tom Anderson

Don’s poor JUDGEment award: Jack Hanley

Rower of the year: David Bartholot and Rowena Meredith

What’s Next?

From next week the club will get back into winter training and those on Australia teams are training with national teams targeting the World Cup 3 Simulation in June.

The NSW Masters Championships are coming up on the 15th May, followed by the 2021 Australian Masters Rowing Championships starting on the 27th May out at SIRC. We wish them luck!



bottom of page