top of page

Alumni Honour Bill Webb

The following SUBC and St Andrew’s College contributed to the purchase of The Dr Bill Webb Trophy:

Phillip Walker Matthew Duly

Roy Beaumont Hugh Fisher

Phil Winkworth Eric Carter

Mark Hoffman Dave Ludowici

Bob McEntyre Mark/ Stephanie Kirkby

Alex Abrahams Andrew McKibbin

John Boultbee Rob Hampshire

Dave Kenyon Hugh Fisher

St Andrew’s College – through Principal

Wayne Erikson

When Australian University Sport decided this year, to have a separate men’s and women’s overall championship at the AUC rowing long-time SUBC Vice President and Administrator, Chris Noel, felt it presented an ideal opportunity to honour the contribution of Dr Bill Webb to Australian and University rowing.

Bill rowed at intervarsity several times and won the Oxford and Cambridge Cup. He also coached both SUBC crews at intervarsity and St Andrew’s crews for the Inter College race. Bill is fondly remembered by hundreds and hundreds of national and state rowers through his work as Australian Rowing Doctor. For over twenty years Bill worked in a voluntary capacity as our national team doctor.

Chris Noel put out a call for assistance to purchase a trophy that would : a) be a suitable tribute to Bill and b) be large enough that it may be difficult for student’s to lose. The response was such that the overall cost was quickly met with pledges from aluumni.

Many thanks to all who contributed. The Bill Webb trophy will be presenetd for the first time on Friday 1st October.



bottom of page