top of page

Sarah Cook Elected to Rowing Australia Board

Former Australian rowing representative, Olympian and President of the Sydney Uni Boat Club, Sarah Cook has been elected as a Director of Rowing Australia at their Annual Meeting held yesterday 1st May.

Sarah represented Australia in national teams from 2004 to 2012 including representing in the Olympic teams of 2008 and 2012.

Since her retirement from high-level competition Sarah has been very active in our sport. She has worked in the rowing team for St Joseph’s college and taken a Junior crew to the World Championship. For the last two years, Sarah has been the Head of Rowing Coaching and Head of the Athlete Development Program at Kinross in Orange.

Sarah has served for a number of years on the Board of Rowing NSW and on the Rowing NSW Competition Commission. As well she has been the Rowing NSW Councillor to Rowing Australia. In addition, Sarah has also completed a term as Vice President of Sydney Uni Sport and Fitness. Sarah’s term at SUSF was highlighted by some disagreements about aspects of Sydney Uni Sport and led to a major governance review that has seen a new more modern body and structure emerge at SUSF. Sarah has now resigned from the Rowing NSW Board to enable standing for a position on the Rowing Australia Board.

Sarah has served as President of Sydney Uni Boat Club since 2016 and with her coaching, competition and administrative background brings all that experience to the Rowing Australia Board.

Sarah has shown a strong interest in national rowing matters and has supported the current national model while working to ensure it meets the needs and aspirations of our high-performance rowers. Sarah brings her senior athlete experience, coaching, and administrative knowledge and her boundless enthusiasm to this important new role.

Sarah will continue as president of the Sydney Uni Boat Club.

Also elected to the Board was Ben Dodwell. The Full Rowing Australia Board is:

Rob Scott (Chair) Flavia Gobbo (Deputy Chair), Directors: Merrick Howes, Bryan Weir, Andrew Michelmore, Sarah Cook, Ben Dodwell, Hannah Every-Hall (Athlete Director). Rowing Australia may announce appointed Board position(s) in the near future.



bottom of page